Morton Dunn Architects was established in 1987 and has grown to become one of the largest and best-resourced architectural practices in regional Victoria, with offices in Ballarat and Geelong.

We have a keen understanding of the issues that affect regional Victoria and continue to pursue innovative, transformative solutions that enhance communities.


Regionally based


Community Focused


Reputation for Excellence


We work collaboratively - bringing together our combined experience, expertise, knowledge and resources to develop the unique aspects of each project. Our Team is committed to the provision of services of the highest standard and delivery of exemplary architectural solutions.


Alan Morton


Peter-John Di Michiel


Russell Hawkes


Timothy Perks


our Awards

Morton Dunn Architects’ projects have been nominated for and received a number of awards for excellence in design, development, and construction including the following:

UNESCO – Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards

Cultural Heritage Conservation – Ballaarat Mechanics Institute

Master Builders Association
Regional Building Awards, South West Victoria

Heritage Award – Ballaarat Mechanics Institute

Excellence in Construction of Commercial Buildings $1-3M
Ballarat and District Aboriginal Co-operative

Ballarat Heritage + Design

New Design in a Heritage Context – Commercial – ANA Building Redevelopment

City of Ballarat – Design Excellence Awards

Phoenix – City of Ballarat Offices

Medium Density Development in an Established Urban Area – Metropolis

Extension/Restoration of a Heritage Commercial Building – 3 Dawson Street South, Ballarat

New Commercial Building – Peter Stephens Motor World

424 Sturt Street, Ballarat - Advertising Signage

Australian Timber Design Awards

Residential Class 1, New Buildings (Single Family Dwelling) Buninyong Residence

BHP Coated Steel Australia

Metal Building Award – Maribyrnong Children’s Centre

Property Council of Australia – Victoria Division Awards

Refurbished Buildings – Ballarat Town Hall

Royal Victorian Institute of Architects

William-Wardell Award for Public Architecture
(in association with Peter Elliott Architects)
Ballarat Town Hall Refurbishment